In The Garden, North Is South

PhotoGrid_1436901294722I just noticed that the north side of my house is the south side of my neighbor’s house. Duh.

Up until now, I’ve been locating and growing plants under the assumption that plants on the south side of the house get full, blazing, hot sun, while plants on the north side of the house get full, hot, dry shade.

This year I’ve been planting flowering vines and plants on the little strip of land and fence on the north side of my house. This is part of the “pollinator highway” I’m building from a nearby bee hive through the front yard to the vegetable garden in the backyard. These flowers are also making the area more beautiful, so neighbors have something pretty to see from their driveway, and we have something pretty to see from our windows (rather than an oxidized hurricane fence).

Now that the plants are getting established…I’ve noticed that the flowering vines are burning alive. This makes no sense because they are shade plants planted in the shade. Except they aren’t. They are shade plants planted in the blazing, hot sun. It turns out that the vines on the fence along the north property line get full sun from 7 am to 7 pm.  The plants located literally 2 feet away are in full shade all day.

Moral of the story: plants on the north side of the house can get full southern sun exposure.  Check before you plant. Or move the plants when they start to fry.

